• Forum of Ministers
  • Caribbean Agriculture Forum for Youth (CAFY)
  • Caribbean Network of Rural Women Producers (CANROP)
  • Caribbean Agri-business Association (CABA)
  • Caribbean Council of Higher Education in Agriculture (CACHE)


The Forum of Ministers of Agriculture was conceptualised and established in 2000 as a mechanism to facilitate dialogue, consensus building and commitment on policies and programmes for agriculture throughout the region.
Through their individual and collective actions, the members contribute to the transformation of the agricultural system and ensure its economic, social and environmental viability and sustainability.




The Caribbean Agricultural Forum for Youth (CAFY) is a key mechanism for the involvement of youth in commercial agriculture and for the sharing of experiences, policy dialogue, and strategy development to foster increased involvement of youth in agriculture in a qualitative and quantitative manner.  
 CAFY also seeks to promote increased innovation among youth, particularly rural youth, to achieve greater development in rural areas for the broad based sustainable development of agriculture.  Former Presidents include: Mr Alton Lawrence (Jamaica) and Mr Malcolm Wallace (Dominica).




The Caribbean Network of Rural Women Producers (CANROP)  is the umbrella organization that embraces national chapters of rural women’s associations in the Caribbean.  The regional network is a non-profit organization and was formally launched in 1999, to create a single entity of already existing associations of rural women producers.
These associations have been established in response to the need to equip women with technical, administrative and entrepreneurial skills as a means to improving their socio-economic status and create employment in the rural areas in which they live.




The Caribbean Agri-Business Association (CABA) represents the Caribbean Region’s first agribusiness association. CABA was founded as an integrated and vital agricultural mechanism to provide a collective negotiating voice for the agribusiness sub-sector and further stimulate agribusiness growth and trade in the Region. 
CABA is dedicated to promoting a common agribusiness interest through concentrated and consolidated action, and to be an effective advocate of agribusiness interest to governments in the region. Former Presidents of CABA include: Mr Patrick Sabbles (Jamaica), Mr Harry Seeram (Trinidad and Tobago).

The Caribbean Council for Higher Education in Agriculture (CACHE) was formally launched as a non-profit organization, committed to fostering human resource development for sustainable transformation of agriculture in the Caribbean.  
 CACHE’s agenda focus on aspects related to quality and improvement of educational programmes for agriculture; promoting and facilitating models and systems for self-evaluation and accreditation programmes; and the establishment of a regional programme for evaluation and accreditation as well as training a cadre of specialist throughout the region.
 Procicaribe was established in 1998 by CARDI and IICA in collaboration with UWI.  Its purpose is to establish an effective networking system amongst members of the public/private sectors, NGOs, farmers’ groups and other stakeholders in the Caribbean.
Procicaribe also provides an institutional framework for the integration and coordination of agricultural research at the national and regional levels with linkages to international organisations.

Recent Updates

Nov 26, 2014 4075

A passion for agriculture

It’s as simple, or as complex as that, depending on where you stand on the multi-faceted…
Nov 24, 2014 5641

Profiles on climate-smart agriculture presented to standing-room-only World Bank audience

Building on prior experience to confront new challenges is a basic precept of ancient…
Oct 23, 2014 4283

CARICOM finally gets fisheries policy but laws are outdated

The 15-nation Caribbean Community (Caricom) now has new fisheries policy, but the fishery…
Oct 17, 2014 4316

Family Farming – A Way of Life

ROME, Oct 15 2014 (IPS) - It does not make the headlines, but 2014 is the International…

Participating Countries

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bahamas
  • Dominica
  • Guyana
  • Grenada
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • Suriname
  • Saint Lucia
  • Trinidad and Tobago

© 2018 CWA |  Joomla Templates by Joomzilla.com
Back to Top